Posted by: theboyfromsmallville | November 28, 2006

Foreword

For the next few days, I will be posting blogs that I wrote during my two-week stay in the United States, where I covered the latest Pacquiao triumph.

I swear, these are the moments when you’re glad you are working where you are. Nothing beats the thrill of being able to watch this kind of competition this close, and getting to do a lot on the side as a bonus.

I am forewarning you because the dates will be pretty mixed up. You will see two or three entries posted on the same day when, in truth, I actually wrote them on scraps of paper over a period of four or five days. So the dates in relation to my writing them blogs will be as accurate as our weathermen, who are only slightly better at predicting rain than our quack fortune-tellers.

The reason? We were constantly in the move in the US, tailing Pacquiao as he went from Los Angeles to Las Vegas. The latter part of that trip included a stop in New York, where I met my mom for the first time and got to spend Thanksgiving with her. That made logging in a luxury I reserved for when I had to transmit stories to my paper. So I will be transcribing those little notes here in the next few days, hoping to get everything done before December rolls around.

The operative word here, of course, is hoping.

Leave a Reply

Categories

