Posted by: theboyfromsmallville | June 1, 2007

Yes, I still am alive

Between the last post and this one, I:

–unvoted*
–kept partial track of the Nueva Ecija congressional race
–cursed the electoral process
–engaged in a drunken debate on the state of politics
–realized I knew zilch about politics
–celebrated losses of Manny Pacquiao and Ali Atienza
–learned to surf
–sang “Part of That World” with half my body buried in toasted sand
–turned several shades of black
–played beach volleyball
–played beach football
–sprained my big toe playing beach football
–limped for two days after spraining my toe playing beach football
–fended off rumors that my sprained toe was a case of gout
–(Fell. Hard. )
–lost my camera
–had a lot of hot, passionate sex
–lied about having a lot of hot, passionate sex
–vacationed in Cebu (sigh)
–threw money away at the mahjong tables
–rode an airplane four times in nine days
–planted a foot in Cebu City, Manila and Bangkok in two days
covered the RP basketball team that won the SEABA championship in Thailand
–got scooped during the coverage because of stupidity (sorry, boss Ted. Sorry)
–adopted a daughter. Panganay.
–failed to be a shoulder to lean on for someone who’s done just that for me before
–disappointed a very special person
–watched a sunrise with that special person
–watched a string of movies that were huge disappointments
–watched Shrek 3 and crossed it off list of huge disappointments
–developed the quirky habit of singing “I Believe I Can Fly” whenever I’m alone inside an elevator alone. Yes, it’s plagiarized from Jim Carey
–learned to velcro a looney smile on my face when I’m happy for no apparent reason
–received my first pair of Havaianas (yes, I sold out).
–started a countdown to August 8
–got promoted (yahoo!)
          *the act of marching to a voting center and making an impromptu stand by not voting

I know. These are the lamest excuses anyone has ever come up for not updating blogs. The lamest excuses, in fact, in the history of lame excuses since someone’s dog ate some pupil’s homework.

But hey, try agonizing over a sprained toe that swelled twice its normal size and NO IT WASN’T GOUT, and looking for something to blog about during a brain-drain week where the closest thing I did that resembled mental activity was to solve a crossword puzzle printed in a tabloid newspaper page used to wrap one of the pasalubongs I brought home from Cebu.

Yeah. Not easy. The elections were nothing to blog about. Although I did get started on a piece entitled “A call for relevance” in the hopes of getting people to vote. The right people, I mean.

I got as far as…

“By the time this latest round of electoral exercise is done, we will all find ourselves stuck with the same country we were living in before we had our forefingers indelible-inked.

Cracked pavements. An even more fragmented society.”

Blogging about learning to surf was on deck too, but every word I tried to type evoked that familiar feeling of melancholy that comes with losing someone/thing dear to you. It’s like sitting on a toilet bowl and dunking a five-pound stinger down the drain. You know you’re never going to be the same person again having lost that, no matter how many lifetimes you live.

That’s exactly how I felt about losing the trusty camera that included an un-uploaded sequence of candid photos of the strandedwahine and that bubbly kittenprincessbaby Faye locked in a tight and comical embrace.

Those photos, magnificent and awww-inspiring in their candidness, can never be reproduced, except maybe in the dust-coated corners of the mind, where they will blur and yellow with the passage of time and the weakening of the body.

So. My apologies. I will be back to post mode soon.

As soon as I find something to write about.

Responses

  1. *points to self* panganay =)

    buti ka nga, you RECEIVED your first pair. i, on the other hand, really sold out by buying a pair =D

  2. and then i bought a second pair, panganay.
    how’s that for selling out?

  3. –(Fell. Hard. )
    —AKO DAW POW ITO! weeeee! =))

    *this is actually the first time nasama ako sa blog mo. thanks, thanks, thanks! =)

    i’m looking forward to watching more sunrises with you again. wavs yah!

  4. BabyJ!!!!!!!
    more sunrises!
    mwah!
    labshoo din po!!!!

  5. i hope you didn’t have to lie about having a lot of hot, passionate sex lol!

  6. Ems… Hehehehe. I wish!


Leave a Reply

Categories

